Rookie of the Year


The AAM Rookie of the year recognizes an up-and-comer in the accounting marketing profession with three or fewer years of experience in the industry. To be considered for the award, an AAM member must be nominated by an AAM member, their firms or anyone in the industry. Self-nominations are also accepted. Selected by the AAM Hall of Fame, the Rookie is honored at AAM’s annual summit.


Requirements for the award have been modified since inception. Currently, they are as follows:


What are the requirements?

  • Candidates will have no more than five years in total work experience
  • Candidates will have no more than three years accounting marketing experience by December 31, 2021.
  • A current AAM member

What are the judging criteria?

  • Performance in their role
  • Impact of work on the firm
  • Involvement within AAM and the accounting profession
  • Involvement within their local community
The Hall of Fame will have discretion in determining the outcome of the award in the case of extenuating circumstances. 

Past Rookie of the Year Winners

(and the firm they were with at the time of winning)

2022: Bethany Silvis, Kerkering, Barberio & Co., Sarasota, FL
2021: Katie Lyles, Lane Gorman Trubitt, Dallas, TX
2020: Siri SvayPannell Kerr Forster of Texas, P.C., Houston, TX
2019: Korby Boswell, Adams, Brown, Beran and Ball, Great Bend, KS
2018: Katherine Koon, GBQ, Columbus, OH
2017: Jeshanah McLeod, Brown Schultz Sheridan & Fritz, Camp Hill, PA
2016: Katie Butler, Weinstein Spira, Houston, TX
2016: Ian McManis, Barnes Dennig, Cincinnati, OH
2015: Veronica Rodriguez Malloy, PDR CPAs, Clearwater, FL
2014: Lexi McWiggins, Postlethwaite & Netterville, Metairie, LA
2013: Joseph Schwarz, Matson & Isom, Chico, CA
2012: Kari Reynolds, MGO, Newport Beach, CA
2011: Emily Burns, Freed Maxick & Battaglia, CPAs, PC, Buffalo, NY
2010: Leslie Leach, Armanino McKenna, San Ramon, CA 
2009: Stacy Soefer, Gainer, Donnelly & Desroches, LLP, Houston, TX
2008: Ben Plantan, JH Cohn LLP, New York, NY
2007: Lee Peretz, JH Cohn LLP, New York, NY
2006: Eric Majchrzak, Freed Maxick & Battaglia, CPAs, PC, Buffalo, NY 
2005: Rene Stranghoner, Weaver LLP, Fort Worth, TX