Marketer of the Year

The Association for Accounting Marketing’s (AAM) Marketer of the Year award is AAM’s most prestigious award recognizing a marketer who has demonstrated exemplary performance in the profession of accounting marketing. This award is open to both AAM members as well as non-members and is presented annually at the AAM Summit.


To be eligible, nominees must hold a senior-level marketing position in public accounting for at least three years, although not necessarily at the same firm. 

Judging Criteria

The nominees will be ranked by an anonymous, but neutral, panel of judges. Criteria for selection focuses on the following in the last 12 months: 

  • Marketing and growth achievements
  • Strategic thinking to help drive firm goals
  • Financial impact
  • Collaboration
  • Understands the client and ability to promote services
  • Ability to use data and technology to drive decisions and create efficiency
  • Demonstrates leadership
  • Offers a future-forward approach

2022 Nominations

Anyone can nominate a marketer for this award. Nominations are not anonymous, and self-nominations are welcome. Previous nominees and marketers from firms of all sizes are encouraged to participate. Nominations are due by Thursday, February 10.

All nominees will be required to complete an online application and list three references no later than Thursday, March 3. Additional details will be outlined once a nomination form has been received.

Submit Your Nomination

Benefits of Winning MOY

As the AAM MOY, you will receive the honor of being identified as exemplary in the field of accounting marketing. Furthermore, you’ll not only elevate your personal brand, you’ll receive numerous benefits, including speaking opportunities and invitations to be a featured author, as well as be a judge for next year’s MOY and see first-hand all of the amazing things your peers are doing.

Past Marketer of the Year Winners (and the firm they were with at the time of winning)

2022: Allison Schlegelmilch, RKL LLP, Lancaster, PA

2021: Sarah Cirelli, Grassi, New York, NY

2020: Annie SomermayerSVA Certified Public Accountants S.C., Madison, WI

2019: Holly Shier, Rehman, Troy, MI

2018: Nicole Gantz, Honkamp Krueger & Co., Dubuque, IA

2017: Laura Kucera, Citrin Cooperman, New York, NY

2016: Rhonda Maraziti, Withum, Princetown, NJ

2015: Eric Majchrzak, BeachFleischman, Tucson, AZ

2014: Randy Mowat, MNP, Calgary, Alberta

2013: Jamie Thomas, LBA Group, Jacksonville, FL

2012: Donna Erbs, Anders, Minkler & Diehl LLP, St. Louis, MO

2011: Raissa Evans, PKF Texas, Houston, TX

2010: Katie Tolin, Rea & Associates, Inc., New Philadelphia, OH

2009: Scott Moore, Dixon Hughes Goodman, LLP, Charlotte, NC

2008: Rene Stranghoner, Weaver & Tidwell, Ft. Worth, TX

2007: Lori Colvin, Armanino & McKenna, San Ramon, CA

2006: Mitch Reno, The Rehmann Group, Troy, MI

2005: Ed Russ, Grant Thornton, Chicago, IL

2004: Leisa Gill, Lattimore Black Morgan & Cain, Brentwood, TN

2003: Sally Glick, The Videre Group, Parsippany, NJ

2002: Karen Love, PKF Texas, Houston, TX

2001: Debra Skolnick, Goldenberg Rosenthal, Philadelphia, PA

2000: Marlin Bochantin, Wolf & Co., Oak Brook, IL

1999: Lisa Gamze, Crowe Chizek, Indianapolis, IN

1998: Neil Fauerbach, Virchow, Krause & Co., Madison, WI

1997: Lyne (Manescalchi) Noella, Boulay, Heutmaker, Zibell & Co., Minneapolis, MN

1996: Patricia Luchs, McGladrey & Pullen, Chicago, IL

1995: Thalia Zetlin, David Berdon & Co., New York, NY

1994: Ed Gabrielse, Checkers, Simon & Rosner, Chicago, IL

1993: Adrian Ornik, Coopers & Lybrand, Philadelphia, PA